James Bowie PTA

Bowie PTA is an association made up of K-6 parents, teachers, administrators and community members who work together to provide an exceptional educational experience and learning environment to help our children succeed in the 21st century.

 

Bowie's PTA motto: "YOU Make the Difference" 

 

The Bowie PTA supports programs and events throughout the year as well as providing funding for programs and learning tools that enhance and enrich our children's experience in the classroom as well as supporting our school.  The Bowie PTA has the following plans for the upcoming school year:

 

  • BooHoo/Yahoo Parent Breakfast
  • Manage Marquee, On-Line Store, Website and Mustang Link(E-Newsletter)
  • Mustang Fundraising Drive and Annual Auction 
  • Multicultural Day
  • Red Ribbon week with special student programming
  • Back to School Teacher Luncheon, Souper Bowl Teacher Luncheon and monthly Teacher birthday Breakfasts
  • Teacher Appreciation Week to honor our Teachers and Staff
  • Providing Thanksgiving Baskets to cafeteria and custodial staff
  • Annual Fall Festival Community Event
  • Buddy Field Day
  • Parent education programs
  • Participation in RISD Council Shoe Shoe Train, Clothes Closet and Used Book Fair
  • Participation in Reflections, National PTA's cornerstone art program and competition
  • Production of Yearbook and Directory
  • PR in local magazines, newspapers and RISD Council Link
  • Repeat Platinum Level Volunteer Award, The Early Bird Achievement Award, the Membership Increase Award, 500 Club Achievement Award, Platinum Award & Texas Star Award
  • Repeat “A Voice for Every Child Award” for having one PTA member for every child in our school.

Check out this quick guide and FAQs about the Bowie PTA!  Bowie PTA 101.

Looking for Teacher Favorites?  Teacher Favorites 2019-2020  2020-2021 COMING SOON!

 


 

James Bowie Elementary
PTA Board 2020-2021

 -

PTA OFFICERS:

 

President
Jeana Harbour

president@jamesbowiepta.org

1st VP- Aide
Amber Newman

firstvp@jamesbowiepta.org

2nd VP – Membership
Aimee Sheahan

members@jamesbowiepta.org

3rd VP – Programs
Monica Kuhlman

programs@jamesbowiepta.org

4th VP – Finance
Wendy Cone

finance@jamesbowiepta.org

5th VP – Ways & Means (Fund Raising)
Cheryl Hamilton

waysandmeans@jamesbowiepta.org

6th VP – Procurement & Distribution (Spiritwear)
Dana Douthit

procurementanddistribution@jamesbowiepta.org

7th VP – Volunteers
Ashley Shurtleff

volunteers@jamesbowiepta.org

Secretary
Cassey Stephens

secretary@jamesbowiepta.org

Treasurer
Mary Alyce Kaetzel

treasurer@jamesbowiepta.org

Parliamentarian
Amanda Maul

parliamentarian@jamesbowiepta.org

 

 

PTA STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS:

 

Accelerated Reading
Rachana Black

AR@jamesbowiepta.org

Auction
Amy Weems

auction@jamesbowiepta.org

 Beautification
Amy Hammer

beautification@jamesbowiepta.org

Citizenship/Legislation
Kathy Roberts

citizenship@jamesbowiepta.org

Communications
Heather Weathers

communications@jamesbowiepta.org

   

Educational Services
Amy Hampton

eduservices@jamesbowiepta.org

Environmental
Maggie Curtis

environment@jamesbowiepta.org

Fall Festival
Cara Jaggers

fallfest@jamesbowiepta.org

Fall Festival
Emily Mulkey

 

Health & Welfare
Kristen Kammerer

healthandwelfare@jamesbowiepta.org

Hospitality
Lauren Johnson

hospitality@jamesbowiepta.org

Multicultural
Emily Tenner

multicultural@jamesbowiepta.org

Newcomers
Jordan Livingstone

new@jamesbowiepta.org

Reading Programs
Jessica Williams 

reading@jamesbowiepta.org

Reading Programs
Katie Schulze

 

Reflections
Cayce Neill

reflections@jamesbowiepta.org

RISD Delegate #1
Ryan Oliveira

delegate@jamesbowiepta.org

RISD Delegate #2

Sharon Haynes

delegate2@jamesbowiepta.org

SAGE
Rebecca Mclain

sage@jamesbowiepta.org

Sign/Marquee
Jennifer Swindle

sign@jamesbowiepta.org

Supply Sale
Lisa Hawkins

supplies@jamesbowiepta.org

Supply Sale
Mitzi Tsukahara

supplies2@jamesbowiepta.org

Yearbook
Lindsi Hanchey

yearbook@jamesbowiepta.org

Principal
Chanda Ash

 

 

 


Bowie PTA
Approved Budgets and Disbursements

 Only PTA members can access our approved Budget and Disbursement files HERE

 


Bowie PTA 
Achievements

For Our Students:

Supplies for Classrooms: Kinder-6th Grade 
Art Supplies (Glaze for projects)
Beta Club supplies for Competition
Buddy Fun Day equipment, popsicles, face paint Clusters supplies
Dyslexia, Speech & ESL classroom supplies 
Library equipment and books
Music – instruments
Playground equipment, basketball goals, volleyball equipment 
PE – tech equipment for classes
Spelling City
Computer Lab printer paper, printer cartridges, headphones, keyboards & keyboard covers
Accelerated Reader Program & Awards
Lone Star Challenge program, supplies and awards
DI Program
Red Ribbon Week Program and Supplies
Multicultural Program
Newcomers’ incoming kinder parties/spring event
Reflections Program/Awards event
Reading Programs Summer reading Pop Party
Reading Programs Summer reading awards
Memories with Mom
End of Year Student Recognition Program
New Playground Equipment
Updated seating for the newly renovated library

 

For Our Teachers & Staff:

Capturing Kid’s Hearts teacher development
Clinic – National School Nurses Assoc., clinic equipment, children’s undergarments 
Material center – lamination supplies and Large Rolls of Craft Paper
Teacher Appreciation Week
Back to School/Buddy Fun Day Teacher Lunch/End of Year Breakfast
Teacher Monthly Birthday small gift
Office Staff & Cafeteria/Janitorial Staff Appreciation gifts 
Teacher Retirement Gifts
Interior Décor for School
Teacher Lounge Water Cooler/Dispenser
PTA Officer Training Summer Seminar

 

For Our Community/Parents:

Plants and irrigation for exterior of school and sidewalk improvements
School Related Scout Projects
Membership Toolkit – Online website, sales and parent communications for PTA Donations for Car Seat Safety, Christa McAulliffe, Clothes Closet, JJP Scholarship, and SAGE
Parent Programs
Fall Festival