James Bowie PTA

Bowie PTA is an association made up of PK-6 parents, teachers, administrators and community members who work together to provide an exceptional educational experience and learning environment to help our children succeed in the 21st century.

 

Bowie's PTA motto: "YOU Make the Difference" 

 

The Bowie PTA supports programs and events throughout the year as well as providing funding for programs and learning tools that enhance and enrich our children's experience in the classroom as well as supporting our school.  The Bowie PTA has the following plans for the upcoming school year:

 

  • A shirt for every Bowie student: PTA will be providing each child with their field day/ field trip shirt
  • Volunteer Fair: Find where place to volunteer in the 2022-23 school year! (August 12, during teacher meet and greet)
  • New Parent Meeting: August 16th (after drop off) in the Library
  • Manage Marquee, On-Line Store, Website and Mustang Link(E-Newsletter)
  • Mustang Fundraising Drive and Annual Auction 
  • Grandparent Day
  • Multicultural Day
  • Red Ribbon week with special student programming
  • Back to School Teacher Luncheon, Souper Bowl Teacher Luncheon and monthly Teacher birthday Breakfasts
  • Teacher Appreciation Week to honor our Teachers and Staff
  • Providing Thanksgiving Baskets to cafeteria and custodial staff
  • Annual Fall Festival Community Event
  • Veterans Week
  • Field Day
  • Parent education programs
  • Participation in RISD Council Shoe Shoe Train, Clothes Closet and Used Book Fair
  • Participation in Reflections, National PTA's cornerstone art program and competition
  • Production of Yearbook and Directory
  • PR in local magazines, newspapers and RISD Council Link
  • Repeat Platinum Level Volunteer Award, The Early Bird Achievement Award, the Membership Increase Award, 500 Club Achievement Award, Platinum Award & Texas Star Award
  • Repeat “A Voice for Every Child Award” for having one PTA member for every child in our school.

Check out this quick guide and FAQs about the Bowie PTA!  Bowie PTA 101.

Looking for Teacher Favorites?  2022-2023 COMING SOON!

 


 

James Bowie Elementary
PTA Board 2022-2023

 -

PTA OFFICERS:

 

President
Dana Douthit

president@jamesbowiepta.org

1st VP- Aide
Jen Swindle

firstvp@jamesbowiepta.org

2nd VP – Membership
Ashley Shurtleff

members@jamesbowiepta.org

3rd VP – Programs
Jessica Williams

programs@jamesbowiepta.org

4th VP – Finance
Mary Alyce Kaetzel

finance@jamesbowiepta.org

5th VP – Ways & Means (Fund Raising)
Laura Crook

waysandmeans@jamesbowiepta.org

6th VP – Procurement & Distribution (Spiritwear)
Amy Enns

procurementanddistribution@jamesbowiepta.org

7th VP – Volunteers
Lisa Hawkins

volunteers@jamesbowiepta.org

Secretary
Jeana Harbour

secretary@jamesbowiepta.org

Treasurer
Melissa Covington

treasurer@jamesbowiepta.org

Parliamentarian
Kathy Roberts

parliamentarian@jamesbowiepta.org

 

 

PTA STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS:

 

Accelerated Reading
Amy Hammer

AR@jamesbowiepta.org

Auction
Sarah Boddy & Emily Gonzalez

auction@jamesbowiepta.org

Beautification
Ryan Oliveira

beautification@jamesbowiepta.org

Citizenship/Legislation
Ruth Oyler

citizenship@jamesbowiepta.org

Communications
Brooke Reynolds

communications@jamesbowiepta.org

Educational Services
Megan Moulton

eduservices@jamesbowiepta.org

Environmental
Ashley Ostrowicki

environment@jamesbowiepta.org

Fall Festival
Leanne Page & Michelle Zukoff

fallfest@jamesbowiepta.org

Health & Welfare
Margaux Ray

healthandwelfare@jamesbowiepta.org

Hospitality
Kelly Griffin & Amanda Hankins  

hospitality@jamesbowiepta.org

Multicultural
Ashley Williams

multicultural@jamesbowiepta.org

Newcomers
Emily Mulkey

new@jamesbowiepta.org

Reading Programs
Ashley Kelly & Marcie Durst

reading@jamesbowiepta.org

Reflections
Emily Tenner

reflections@jamesbowiepta.org

RISD Delegate #1
Ryan Oliveira

delegate@jamesbowiepta.org

RISD Delegate #2

Sharon Haynes

delegate2@jamesbowiepta.org

SAGE
Stacey Reinig

sage@jamesbowiepta.org

Sign/Marquee
Betsy Cholick

sign@jamesbowiepta.org

Spirit Wear 2

Maggie Curtis

Supply Sale
Cara Jaggers & Amber Newman

 

 

supplies@jamesbowiepta.org

Yearbook
Gina Pesce

yearbook@jamesbowiepta.org

Council Delegate 1 & 2

Stefanie Parker & Natalie Bridges

 


Bowie PTA
Approved Budgets and Disbursements

 Only PTA members can access our approved Budget and Disbursement files HERE

 

22/22 Approved Meeting Minutes

Only PTA members can access our approved Meeting Minutes files.

 

 

 

Bylaws and Standing Rules

 Only PTA members can access our Bylaws and Standing Rules.  Bylaws and Standing Rules

 


Bowie PTA 
Achievements

For Our Students:

Supplies for Classrooms: Kinder-6th Grade 

T-shirt for every Bowie student (PK-6)
Art Supplies (Glaze for projects)
Field Day equipment, popsicles, face paint Clusters supplies
Dyslexia, Speech & ESL classroom supplies 
Library equipment and books
Music – instruments
Playground equipment, basketball goals, volleyball equipment 
PE – tech equipment for classes
Spelling City
Computer Lab printer paper, printer cartridges, headphones, keyboards & keyboard covers
Accelerated Reader Program & Awards
Lone Star Challenge program, supplies and awards
DI Program
Red Ribbon Week Program and Supplies
Multicultural Program
Newcomers’ incoming kinder parties/spring event
Reflections Program/Awards event
Reading Programs Summer reading Pop Party
Reading Programs Summer reading awards
Memories with Mom
End of Year Student Recognition Program
New Playground Equipment
Updated seating for the newly renovated library

 

For Our Teachers & Staff:

Capturing Kid’s Hearts teacher development
Clinic – National School Nurses Assoc., clinic equipment, children’s undergarments 

NEW teacher stipend to get their new classroom ready
Material center – lamination supplies and Large Rolls of Craft Paper
Teacher Appreciation Week
Back to School/Field Day Teacher Lunch/End of Year Breakfast
Teacher Monthly Birthday small gift
Office Staff & Cafeteria/Janitorial Staff Appreciation gifts 
Teacher Retirement Gifts
Interior Décor for School
Teacher Lounge Water Cooler/Dispenser
PTA Officer Training Summer Seminar

 

For Our Community/Parents:

Plants and irrigation for exterior of school and sidewalk improvements
School Related Scout Projects
Membership Toolkit – Online website, sales and parent communications for PTA Donations for Car Seat Safety, Christa McAulliffe, Clothes Closet, JJP Scholarship, and SAGE
Parent Programs
Fall Festival